To illustrate the prevalence of wheat in our food supply, I've compiled a short list of foods that contain wheat, even though I really think they shouldn't:
- Soy sauce (and teriyaki sauce): This is one of the worst ones, in my opinion, because it's called "soy" sauce. It should be made of soy, right? Well, many of the commercially available soy sauces contain absolutely no soy, but they do contain wheat.
- Some shredded cheeses: No, I am not kidding. Sometimes there is wheat added to shredded cheese to prevent clumping.
- Rice and corn cereal (Crispix): A cereal made up almost entirely of rice and corn, but it has malt flavoring added. Why?!
- Most canned soups (including tomato): Even soups that are not cream-based or do not have noodles contain wheat. There is just no justifiable reason in my mind for putting flour in vegetable soup.
- Flavored rice mixes: Even though it's a rice mix, wheat is added to the flavoring/sauce.
- Many types of potato chips: Again, even though it's made of potatoes, the wheat is part of the flavoring.
Wheat grass and barley grass juices, while made of wheat, do not contain gluten. However, if a person has Celiac disease or a true wheat allergy, there's such a high risk of contamination with wheat seeds that these should be avoided, too. It is also my understanding that while oats and wheat contain a common protein (avenin), oats are actually gluten-free. Similarly to the grass juices, oats have a high risk of contamination by wheat products. Also, because of the common protein, oats may cause problems for people who have Celiac disease.
When reading food labels, I've gotten into the habit of looking at the bottom of the ingredients list for the allergy warning statement. If it has one of these, it will say something like "Contains: wheat, eggs." in bold. If it doesn't have that allergy statement, I have to read through all the ingredients.
The more obvious indicators that an item contains wheat ingredients are if it says any of the following: wheat, whole wheat flour, unbleached flour, bleached flour.... If it says "flour," that means "wheat" unless otherwise specified as "rice flour" or "potato flour," et cetera.
Some of the other things you might see on labels that mean a food item has wheat in it are: malt (even "malt flavoring"), distilled vinegar (malt vinegar), modified food starch (usually made from corn, but sometimes made from wheat), dextrin (usually made from corn, but sometimes made from wheat), caramel color (made from corn in the US, so it's gluten-free here, but made from barley in other countries), and brown rice syrup (sometimes barley enzymes are used to make it, and sometimes fungal enzymes are used so it may or may not be gluten-free).
It can be a little tricky at first, but after only a few weeks, I feel almost like a pro at scanning labels for wheat ingredients. Fortunately, there are plenty of delicious foods that don't contain wheat or gluten, so I've really started to enjoy this experience. I'll write more about that later!